1st ASSCAT SUC President Rapid CHESS Open Tournament: A Successful Sports for Unity, Peace, and Prosperity for All!

After the 1st ASSCAT SUC President Volleyball Summer Clinic and Tournament, the Sports Coordinator presented his plan to organize the 1st ASSCAT SUC President Rapid Chess Open Tournament to the College President, Dr. Juarlito V. Garcines, who automatically showed his support. Dr. Garcines instructed the Sports Coordinator to present his proposal to the Joint Academic – Administrative Council Meeting.

On May 31, 2018, the Sports Coordinator presented his proposal for the 1st ASSCAT SUC President Rapid Chess Open Tournament at the Joint Academic – Administrative Council Meeting. After the presentation, Dr. Dinopol, Dr. Llanto, Dr. Yurango, Dr. Cayogyog, AFA President Mr. Barrios, and Ms. Samoranos asked some important details which enhanced the proposal. After the Q and A portion, Ms. Leolyn P. Jusay, the HR designate moved a motion to approve the organizing of the 1st ASSCAT SUC President Rapid Chess Open Summer Clinic and Tournament on July 19-20, 2018 duly seconded by AFA President Mr. Eliezer Barrios.

On June 15, 2018, Mr. Raymond F. Gabica, the event organizer and coach for ASSCAT Female Chess Team, requested the Sports Coordinator to reschedule the event on July 27-28, 2018. They drafted a letter addressed to the Dr. Juarlito.

After the approval of the new schedule, Mr. Gabica and the Sports Coordinator requested Mr. Bernie S. Balighot to design the tarpaulin for the event. Advertisement in the official social media accounts of ASSCAT started immediately after receiving the ad design from Mr. Balighot.

Mr. Gabica then communicated with the Alpha Phi Omega MARSHLAND Alumni Association, Agusan del Sur National High School, Bayugan Comprehensive National High School, Bunawan National High School, Trento National High School, Bunawan Chess Club, and the National Federation Chess of the Philippines for possible partnership. While the Sports Coordinator coordinated with the Upsilon Phi Sigma VeTreBunS. The said organizations and agencies automatically responded.

ASSCAT Sports Development Office with the superb support of the administration headed by Dr. Juarlito V. Garcines, the College President, the Gender and Development Office, Health and Wellness Office, Extension Office, Supreme Student Government of Main and Trento Satellite Campuses, PICROrg, and IP Youth Club, realized the successful conduct of this 1st ASSCAT SUC President Rapid CHESS Open Tournament with the theme “Sports for Unity, Peace, and Prosperity for All!”

In Day 1, President Garcines emphasized the statement of the late Nelson Mandela that “Sports have the power to change the world. It has the power to inspire, the power to unite people in a way that little else does. It speaks to youth in a language they understand. Sports can create hope, where there was once only despair. It is more powerful than governments in breaking down racial barriers. It laughs in the face of all types of discrimination. Sports is the game of lovers.”
President Garcines also said that ASSCAT sends Mr. Edlor Tortoga to train for Arnis at Manila to establish ASSCAT Arnis Club and train students who will compete in the MASTS and SCUAA. During the tournament, alumni members of ASSCAT in the person of Engr. Jake Stephen D. Panton and Mr. Jaime B. Borja, former chess players, also showed their full support in this event by participating.

In Day 2, the tournament had 7 rounds. A national master with 2184 points in the person of Mr. Alexander Lupian joined the event. Other rated players with more than two thousand points are Harrison Naamo, Jun Mark Baldesemo, Rodrigo Catayas, John Gerard Acedo, Jimzon Trangia, and Jayson Salubre.

The winners for this 1st ASSCAT SUC President Rapid CHESS Open Tournament from Tournament-Database of Chess http://chess-results.com/ are as follows:

Rk 1 TRANGIA Jimzon Rtg 2065 Pts 6
Rk 2 NM LUPIAN Alexander Rtg 2184 Pts 6
Rk 3 CATAYAS Rodrigo Rtg 2103 Pts 6
Rk 4 BALDESIMO Jun Mark Rtg 2164 Pts 6
Rk 5 MAAMO Harrison Rtg 2217 Pts 6

Top Female Jeca Verula
Top U12 Kent Muanag
Top U16 Kester Pareja

The winners also received trophies and certificates.

The event ended at 07:30 PM.